Pete Petersen Basketball League hosts 2024 Awards Banquet

Pete Petersen Award Winners. Submitted photo.

Players, their families, and supporters of the Pete Petersen Basketball League gathered at Our Lady of Fatima Parish Hall on Division Street for the annual awards ceremony and banquet on Sunday, Mar. 3, 2024.

The afternoon event served up a hot dog feast sponsored by Tanya’s No Frills Kingston, a video presentation of athlete and game photos taken throughout the season, and an awards ceremony presented by supporters of the league.

The league shared the following details on the awards handed out at the banquet:

The Don “Pete” Petersen Trophy — This award is presented annually to the individual from each division rendering the greatest and most faithful service to the general good of the league.

Little GuysLuis Dematos
Little GalsRose Dean
GirlsJulie Whitbread
BiddyColin Purcell and Emmitt Irwin
GraduateGrace Woodman

The Referee’s TrophyThis award is given annually to the coaches of the year in each division who best exemplify what coaching in the league is all about.

Little GuysJayhawks – Matt Glass and Thomas Vink
Little GalsMonarchs – Brock Easter and Chris McCarthy-Brideau
GirlsStorm – Kate Kelsey and Shanna Todd
BiddyNuggets – Brock Poirier and Ahmer Shazad
GraduateBulls – Nikki Irwin and Will Hansen

The Guy Wells TrophyThis trophy is given to the male and female players who best exemplify what the league stands for – sportsmanship, fair play, team play and leadership.

  • Female winners – Lyra Branscombe and Eden Branscombe – Storm
  • Male winner – Miles Cantarutti – Celtics, and; Will Kerr – Hawks

The Tony Pettitt Award – This award, started in  2007 was put in place in memory of long time league supporter Tony Pettitt and is given to recognize the contributions of a non-coaching, adult volunteer.

  • Colin Purcell

Holy Cross Secondary School Summer Camps

Little GuysSpencer MacGregor – Jayhawks
Little GalsMonarch Malinowski – Slammers

The Bill MacLeod Memorial CupThis award is given annually to the player in each division who best reflects the spirit of the league format “Just for the Fun of it”

Bill MacLeod Memorial Players. Submitted photo.
Little GuysLiam Dematos – Wildcats  
Little GalsOlivia Semchison – Rockers  
GirlsGrace Eves – Sparks  
BiddyEli Sothmann – Spurs  
GraduateZach Griffin – Heat  

The Lenny Falcoa AwardThis award is given for the TEAM OF THE YEAR in each division that best exemplifies the hustle, team work, and all around attitude that makes the league so much fun.

Lenny Falcoa Team of the Year. Submitted photo.
Little GuysTarheels – Cory and Haden Hollywood
Little GalsAztecs – Shakaya Dopwell and Maddy MacKenzie
GirlsStarzz – Mary Jane Besselink and Mary O’Neill – Howlett
BiddyOrange – Paul Medeiros and Jack Molson
GraduateSixers – Jolene O’Brien and Fraser McArthur

Two Ball Champions and Runners-upThese are the winning teams and the runners up from a two ball tournament held for all league players in November.

Little GuysMorrie Mignault and Sebastian Romero-MatthewsJohn Allen and Maveris DeSilva-Cobb
Little GalsClaire Sweet and Lottie O’DonnellAnnika Fogels and Charlotte Soucy
GirlsZoey Black and Summer VallierRuby Castle and Anastasza Windover
BiddyGrey Malinowski and Eli SothmannCarter MacKenzie and Bentley Babcock
GraduateColton Irwin and Wesley BlackOscar Martinez-Munier and Ryan Kyle

Trinity Van Heddegem Memorial Award for the Little Gals Rookie of the Year — This award was established in memory of Trinity VanHeddegem, a player on the Golden Gals that tragically died during the 2012-2013 season.

  • Serenity Smith – Tigers
  • Avery Doering – Lions

The Gerry Besselink Award This award is given for effort, respect and dedication to the league.

  • Emmitt Irwin

St. Lawrence Basketball Camp Awards for one week at the camp this summer.

GirlsMyla Harvey-Shields – Sky
BiddyLiam Kirkpatrick – Spurs
GraduateWarren Berry – Celtics

The Bucky Spencer Memorial Free Throw Champions — This award goes to the best free throw shooters in the league in each age group.

 Age groupWinners
Boys8 yearsLeyton Locke – Hoyas
 9 yearsGrayden McMillan – Hoyas
 10 yearsChristopher MacKenzie-Mills – Hoyas
 11 yearsPreston Bolton – Raptors, Kolton Buscaino – Spurs
 12 yearsDylan Morris – Raptors
 13 yearsGraham Hinch – Celtics
 14 yearsSaha Wheeler-Dee – Bulls
 15 YearsDarren Fernandes – Sixers
Girls8 yearsHarper Langridge – Aztecs
 9 yearsAnnika Fogels – Lions
 10 yearsAva Abbott – Slammers
 11 yearsAdriana Bracciodieta – Storm
 12 yearsSadie O’Donnell – Liberty
 13 yearsJaden Hope – Dream
 14 yearsKaren Hernandez-Castillo – Sky

Most Improved Players in each Division

Little GuysHudson Murray – Hoosiers
Little Gals  Ambrielle Cabral – Aztecs
GirlsMira Vanyolai – Liberty, and Jaden Hope – Dream
BiddyOliver Moreland – Suns, and Beau Riley – Orange
Graduate  Warren Cosgrove – Heat

The Most Valuable Players in each division.

Little GuysSebastian Romero-Mathews – Mustangs, and John Allen – Wolfpack
Little GalsAliyah Brean – Golden Gals, and Hailey Henderson – Monarchs
GirlsSavanah Deszpoth – Mercury  
BiddyDylan Johnston – Nuggets
GraduateSasha Wheeler-Dee – Bulls  

The Most Sportsmanlike Players in each division.

Little GuysCallum Michael Petras – Hoyas
Little GalsStella Boussougou – Rebels
GirlsKaren Hernandez-Castillo – Sky
BiddyKoen Walmsley – Raptors
GraduateDylan Sutton – Warriors  

The Carm Londry Trophy for the player in each division that shares the ball with team mates.

Little GuysKale Svenson – Jayhawks, and Connor Warren – Tarheels
Little GalsReese MacLean – Lions
GirlsJanelle Shoniker – Starzz
BiddyConnor Broeders – Magic, and Hudson Murray – Jazz
GraduateJericho Bridgen – Hawks

The Top Defensive Players in each division

Little GuysFelix Arnold – Huskies, and Nathaniel Tilley – Tarheels
Little GalsTeleah White – Tigers
GirlsSummer Vallier – Sting
BiddyJoe McNutt Brown – Grizzlies
GraduateJ.J. Stotz – Celtics  

Leave a Reply

You cannot copy content from this page, please share the link instead!