MP Kramp-Neuman appointed Shadow Minister for Seniors

Newly-elected Member of Parliament (MP) for Hastings—Lennox and Addington, Shelby Kramp-Neuman, has been appointed to the Official Opposition Shadow Cabinet.

Shelby Kramp-Neuman, Member of Parliament for Hastings—Lennox and Addington. Photo via Kramp-Neuman’s official website.

Erin O’Toole, Leader of the Conservative Party of Canada and the Official Opposition, announced his appointments on Tuesday, Nov. 9, 2021, solidifying the Shadow Cabinet for the 44th Parliament of Canada with 45 Shadow Ministers appointed, as well as one Associate Shadow Minister.

The only local MP appointed to the Shadow Cabinet, Kramp-Neuman was named Shadow Minister for Seniors.

“I am extremely honoured to be given the significant role and responsibility of Shadow Minister for Seniors. I am thrilled to be appointed to this role, and I want to take this opportunity to thank our Leader, Erin O’Toole, for the confidence he has invested in me,” Kramp-Neuman said in a statement.

“Canada’s Conservatives have a strong and proud tradition of working towards improving the lives of Canadian seniors, a tradition that I am excited to continue in the 44th Parliament. I look forward to working with the Minister as well as my colleagues on all sides to deliver results for Canada’s aging population,” she continued.

“I want to take this opportunity to thank my predecessor, the Member of Parliament for Lloydminister, Rosemarie Falk, for her tremendous effort on this file. I am excited to build on the great work Rosemarie and my Conservative colleagues have done, and continue to stand up for Canadian seniors from coast to coast to coast.”

The Official Opposition Shadow Cabinet is made up of members of the main opposition party in Parliament, currently the Conservatives, and is instituted to hold the government to account. Members of the Shadow Cabinet are also responsible for development their party’s policies and positions during its tenure.

O’Toole also announced the following appointees to the Conservative House of Commons Leadership Team:

  • Deputy Leader – Hon. Candice Bergen
  • Chair of Outreach – Hon. Tim Uppal
  • House Leader – Gerard Deltell
  • Deputy House Leader and Co-Chair of Question Period Planning – Michael Barrett
  • Quebec Lieutenant – Alain Rayes
  • Chief Opposition Whip – Blake Richards
  • Caucus Secretary to Conservative Party – Eric Duncan
  • Deputy Opposition Whip, Strategic Advisor, and Co-Chair of Question Period Planning – James Bezan

A complete list of O’Toole’s appointees to the Shadow Cabinet can be read on the Conservative Party of Canada website here.

Leave a Reply

You cannot copy content from this page, please share the link instead!