Frances Smith elected 2024 Frontenac County Warden

Frances Smith has been elected as Frontenac County Warden for 2024. Photo via Frontenac County.

On Wednesday, Dec. 20, 2023, Frontenac County Council announced it has elected Central Frontenac Mayor Frances Smith as 2024 Frontenac County Warden.

“I’d like to thank my fellow Frontenac County Councillors for selecting me as 2024 Warden,” said Smith. “This will be an exciting year. We have a new strategic plan in place, a newly renovated Frontenac County administrative building almost ready, and upcoming changes in County staff leadership to navigate. We have our work cut out for us and I’m eager to continue it together on behalf of every Township and constituent in Frontenac County.”

According to a release from Frontenac County, this is Smith’s fourth term as County Warden. She served previously in 1996, 2016, and 2020.

Also elected is South Frontenac Mayor Ron Vandewal as 2024 County Deputy Warden. Vandewal served most recently as 2023 Warden.

County Wardens and Deputy Wardens are elected by Frontenac County Council each December for a one-year term. According to Frontenac County, the Warden acts as Chief Executive Officer for the County, presides over Council meetings, provides leadership to Council, and represents the County at official functions and to the public. Warden, Deputy Warden, and Councillors each hold one vote on Council.

Frontenac County Council is elected for a four-year term, currently through 2026. It is comprised of eight members including Mayor and one additional Councillor from each of the Townships of North Frontenac, Central Frontenac, South Frontenac, and Frontenac Islands.

The current Frontenac County Council is made up of Warden Frances Smith (Township of Central Frontenac), Deputy Warden Ron Vandewal (Township of South Frontenac), Councillor Fred Fowler (Township of North Frontenac), Councillor Nicki Gowdy (Township of Central Frontenac), Councillor Judy Greenwood-Speers (Township of Frontenac Islands), Councillor Ray Leonard (Township of South Frontenac), Councillor Gerry Lichty (Township of North Frontenac), Councillor Bill Saunders (Township of Frontenac Islands).

More details about Frontenac County Council can be found here.

Leave a Reply

You cannot copy content from this page, please share the link instead!