Eastern Ontario Wardens’ Caucus was well-received at AMO 2023

The Eastern Ontario Wardens’ Caucus (EOWC) reports its members advocated strongly for regional priorities at the Association of Municipalities Ontario (AMO) 2023 Conference held in London, Ontario last week.

The EOWC joined over 2,000 municipal colleagues from across Ontario at the conference, which took place from Aug. 20 to 23, 2023. According to a release from the EOWC, the caucus participated in meetings with the representatives from the Ontario government, the Ontario New Democratic and Liberal parties, and the Federation of Canadian Municipalities to discuss priorities, including:

  • Affordable and attainable housing: The “7 in 7 regional housing plan”
  • Long-term care
  • Paramedic services

“The EOWC continues to be a leading rural municipal voice at decision-making tables. We came prepared to have meaningful conversations with our provincial partners that will lead to better outcomes across our region. We will continue this path forward working on behalf of our 103 municipalities and residents,” stated Peter Emon, EOWC Chair.

The updated map showing the area covered by the Eastern Ontario Wardens’ Caucus membership. Map via EOWC.

According to the release, the EOWC met with the Ministry of Health, the Ministry of Long-Term Care, and the Ontario Liberal and NDP Caucus members to present and gain valuable feedback on the EOWC’s strategic priorities. The priorities and requests were reportedly well-received, and the EOWC said it looks forward to continuing to work with all parties to find solutions and support the region and its communities.

Further information can be read in the AMO 2023 advocacy briefing package, which outlines strategic priorities and recommendations, on the EOWC’s website.

The EOWC is made up of representatives from:

  • County of Frontenac
  • County of Haliburton
  • County of Hastings
  • City of Kawartha Lakes
  • County of Lanark
  • United Counties of Leeds and Grenville
  • County of Lennox and Addington
  • County of Northumberland
  • County of Peterborough
  • United Counties of Prescott and Russell
  • Prince Edward County
  • County of Renfrew
  • United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry

Leave a Reply

You cannot copy content from this page, please share the link instead!