fbpx

ALCDSB school calendar released for 2020-2021

The Algonquin and Lakeshore Catholic District School Board. Photo by Lucas Mulder.

The Algonquin and Lakeshore Catholic District School Board has released its calendar for the 2020-2021 school year.

On June 30, 2020, school boards were asked to resubmit proposed school calendars for the 2020-2021 school year in order to accommodate additional criteria that was set by the Ministry of Education.

This revised calendar includes additional ministry identified criteria and supports the strategic priority “Ensure fiscally responsible, transparent and accountable decision making practices and resource allocation of all school, Board and provincial resources to achieve goals that equitably meet current needs in our school and Board communities,” the school board said in a press release.

A special board meeting was held by the Board of Trustees on Tuesday, July 7, 2020 to approve this calendar for the 2020-2021 school year. And on Tuesday, July 21, 2020 the Ministry of Education approved the 2020-2021 school year calendar. 

Important dates to know for the upcoming school year:

First day of school for students: Thursday, September 3, 2020

Winter Break: Monday, December 21, 2020 – Friday, January 1, 2021

Semester 2 Begins: Friday, January 29, 2021

March Break: Monday, March 15 – Friday, March 19, 2021

Last day of school for students: Thursday, June 24, 2021

Professional Activity (PA) Days:

  • Monday, August 31, 2020
  • Tuesday, September 1, 2020
  • Wednesday, September 2, 2020
  • Friday, September 25, 2020
  • Friday, January 29, 2021
  • Friday, June 4, 2021
  • Friday, June 25, 2021
0 Shares

Leave a Reply