Kingston-made music videos premiere today

Sadaf Amini
Sadaf Amini is one of the 16 local musical acts included in the Local Music Video Showcase. Photo by Claire Bouvier.

One of the many events cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic was the Kingston Canadian Film Festival, which was to celebrate its 20th anniversary in March. Of its many film screenings, concerts, and other events, one of the most anticipated events was the Local Music Video Showcase, which was to debut 16 new music videos produced by local film companies working exclusively with local musicians.

The Kingston Film Office provided $1,000 grants to 15 production companies, who then selected the artists they wanted to work with. According to the Film Office, over 200 members of the local film and music industry were involved in creating these videos.

The Local Music Video Showcase was scheduled to debut at the Ale House before a concert by Bedouin Soundclash on Thursday, Mar. 12, 2020. The film festival, which was to run until March 15, was cancelled on the afternoon of the 12th.

The videos will make their debut tonight, starting at 6 p.m. on Friday, Apr. 3, 2020, at the Kingston Canadian Film Festival website. The videos will be posted until midnight on Sunday, and audiences can vote for their favourite video at Visit Kingston’s Together at Home page. 

The Audience Award and Industry Jury Prize winners will be announced Monday, Apr. 6, 2020 at 2:30 pm on Visit Kingston’s Together at Home page, where you’ll also find all kinds of great local content.  


“Baggage” by Spencer Evans. Directed by Adam Biehler. Produced by Adam Biehler Photography.

“Bittersweet” by VOYAGER, Feat. Justin André. Directed by Aaron Andress. Produced by Ali Dixon

“Longing” by Sian Alcorn. Directed by Josh Lyon. Produced by AKAFLK Productions.

“I Lost Me” by Moira Demorest. Directed by Brent Nurse & Steven Spencer. Produced by bNice Films.

“We All Fall Down” by Teagan McLaren. Directed by Tanya Trombetta. Produced by Creative Nest.

“Out of Step” by The Pink Noise. Directed and produced by Emily Pelstring

“The KP Way” by Michael George. Directed by Dave Wreggitt. Produced by Film Stream Video with Broken Chart Records

“Sunny Ways” by Oakridge Ave. Directed by Jay Middaugh. Produced by Happy Kid Productions.

“Good News” by Deux Trois. Directed by Nuno Ramalho, Raven Adamson, Dimitry Uchitel. Produced by Imprezzionz Exprezzionz.

“La Parole” by Les Soliloques. Directed by Céline Klein. Produced by Jamstone Productions.

“Someday” by Alex Mundy. Directed by Jackie Lee & Kelvin Clark. Produced by JL Creative & Kingston Drone Pros.

“The Lottery” by The Meringues. Directed by Braden Dragomir. Produced by Make Hay Media.

“Sunflower” by Solomon Woodland. Directed by Braden Dragomir. Produced by Make Hay Media.

“Dawn” by Sadaf Amini. Directed by Allen Bergeron. Produced by Skeleton Park Arts Festival.

“Always Growing” by Bon Evans. Directed by Saif Elmaghraby. Produced by SkEye Stream Inc.

“Losing Ground” by Yan-Nick Michaud. Directed by Yan-Nick Michaud. VIVA Productions.

Leave a Reply

You cannot copy content from this page, please share the link instead!