fbpx

The Macaulay House, 1920s

The Macaulay House, Kingston, Ontario
Queen’s University Archives, Dr. H.C. Burleigh fonds, H.S. Spring sous-fonds, 2324-44.” The title is “Macaulay House – Princess and Ontario Sts, 1920s.

 

Robert Macaulay, a Loyalist trader during the Revolutionary War, built the store pictured above on Carleton Island. When the dockyard moved from the Island to Kingston, Macaulay had this building floated by raft to a new location on the mainland, and continued business as a general store keeper. The building was demolished in 1929, but we hope the Zippy peppermint flavor lived to sled another day! And what store now occupies this space?

14 Shares

Queen's Archives

Queen's Archives regular column on Kingstonist showcases our city's rich history via assets sourced from their vast collection. Their contributions stimulate dialog regarding the places, people and events that have shaped Kingston. Learn more about Queen's Archives...

One thought on “The Macaulay House, 1920s

  • December 4, 2016 at 7:58 pm
    Permalink

    That's fronting on Ontario Street right on the corner of Princess. That's the Smith Robinson Building (formerly S&R) in the background. Today it's Bagot Leather Goods.

Leave a Reply